WorkLife – Imposter Syndrome

In the IT field, Imposter Syndrome is a pretty common affliction to find. I have no idea how prevalent it is in other fields. Maybe it’s a function of how broad tech can be, and how much it changes as well? Or maybe it’s a result of the types of people that tend to be attracted to tech jobs? Not always the most outgoing, so self-selected to be less than confident at times?

Whatever the cause, it’s certainly a thing. Read at all in SysAdmin forums and it’s a recurring theme, that gets a lot of discussion. And of course the best time to really show symptoms of it? When looking around at changing jobs, or finding a new one. Either you’re looking at positions that you’re absolutely qualified for, and will probably end up being bored out of your mind doing, and probably not even particularly a good fit for, as a result. Or you’re looking at jobs that want something that’s a reach in some way for you. Personally, if I’m looking for a position, I want there to be opportunities to learn new things, and grow my skillset somehow generally. As has been previously discussed, when I’m bored I can get myself into mischief after all.

Of course then you get hit with it, in the worst possible circumstances. I’m still looking for work. And sending out resumes regularly as a result. Had a first round interview with a company last week, and I certainly felt that I got a good rapport with the interviewer during the call. It’s a good sounding opportunity, seems to fit with what I want to be doing, and even geographically has some appeal too. Pushing me further towards the fringes of the bay would be nice, because maybe at some point I could even start migrating to cheaper climes. I’d like to eventually GTFO and stop living in a crappy, expensive studio.

I got an email today from him, and he’d like to move ahead to a technical screen, with some of his team, via video conferencing. So already I’m not over the moon. I dislike video conferences anyhow. I’ve never been a fan of being on camera for things. I like being a photographer, because it keeps me on the side of the camera that I’m happiest about. 🙂 And of course then there’s the general concerns, with how well I can communicate that I know enough to do that job, even if I’m pretty confident that I can do the job, being able to “sell” my qualifications is never easy.

But then we get the kicker, that either makes it much worse, or a little better. The second half of the 2 hour screen, is to be going over 5 projects they are looking at this role leading. And so there’s a list of 5 things they’d like to accomplish, and me (and I assume other candidates) will have an hour or so to talk about the 5, and at least give broad brush outlines of how we might proceed with them. Clearly I don’t know much of anything about the current environment, so I can’t really be too specific. Just demonstrating that I know the basics of how things work. And where to go with projects at least in general.

The reality is, that knowing the 5 should add some comfort, at least in theory. Since a technical interview is going to touch on what you know, they are going to throw technical questions at you. At least in this case, I know in advance what the 5 big items are, and can prepare for them. Giving them some thought, and having prepared some notes, and hopefully giving more detailed answers as a result. Rather than having just random stuff dropped in my lap instead. That should be better, right?

The reality is I’ve got ~72 hours to obsess over a list of things, think about them, wonder if I’m truly qualified to deal with them, and wonder how I sound compared to people I’ll never know for sure existed, and how qualified they might be, or how much more qualified they might be. I know I can do that job. But what Christopher Titus calls the Inner Idiot. And of course even after I get off the call, the II will be sure to point out every stupid mistake I made, and everything I overlooked. The little bastard is useless in advance to prepare, other than as a distraction. But after the fact he’s going to be able to demonstrate a truly detailed memory of all sorts of things I could have done better.

It’s going to be a long couple days, hopefully the outcome will make it worthwhile tho.

Leave a comment